Pierre-Stéphane Meugé @ Isabelle Meister

Born in 1964 in Bordeaux, Pierre-Stéphane Meugé began studying the piano at the age of six in Vannes, Brittany. He continued his studies in harmonic analysis, acoustics, double bass, viola, saxophone, harmony, counterpoint and conducting at the Strasbourg Conservatory.

In 1986 he participated in the seminar on musical phenomenology and conducting with Sergiù Cèlibidache, a life-changing encounter along with that of Emmanuel Nunes, with whom he studied composition at the workshop of instrumental research of IRCAM. He began his studies of improvisation with VInko Globokar, Derek Bailey and Evan Parker. In 1988 the International Musikinstitut named him professor of saxophone for the summer courses for New Music in Darmstadt. There he frequented numerous composers, amongst them such great men as John Cage and Morton Feldman, whose influence is ever growing. BBC radio interviewed him for the show Tuningin 1992.

As a soloist, he notably performed Hotby Franco Donatoni with the Ensemble Intercontemporain at the Festival d’Automne in 2007. His numerous premieres include P.S., which Georges Aperghis dedicated to him in 2009. In addition to his work in musical theatre, he has also been active in the field of improvisation and music of our time, collaborating with dancers, actors, pantomimes and film directors. Since 1999, Pierre-Stéphane Meugé teaches saxophone and chamber music at the Haute Ecole de Musique of Lausanne, where he also runs the workshop in contemporary music.

Né en 1964 à Bordeaux, Pierre-Stéphane Meugé commence le piano à l’âge de 6 ans à Vannes (Bretagne). Il poursuit des études complètes (analyse, acoustique, contrebasse, alto, saxophone, harmonie, contrepoint et direction d’orchestre) au Conservatoire national de Région de Strasbourg.

Il participe dès 1986 aux Séminaires de phénoménologie musicale et de direction d’orchestre avec Sergiù Celibidache, une rencontre déterminante comme celle d’Emmanuel Nunes, dont il suit les cours de composition à l’Atelier de recherche instrumentale de l’IRCAM. Il s’initie aussi à l’improvisation avec Vinko Globokar, Derek Bailey et Evan Parker. En 1988, l’International MusikInstitut lui confie la première chaire de saxophone aux Ferienkurse für Neue Musik de Darmsdadt ; il y côtoiera de nombreux compositeurs, parmi lesquels de grandes figures comme John Cage ou Morton Feldman, dont l’héritage ne cessera de s’approfondir. La BBC Radio 3 lui consacre un portrait dans l’émission Tuning upen 1992.

En tant que soliste, il a notamment joué Hotde Franco Donatoni avec l’Ensemble intercontemporain au Festival d’Automne à Paris en 2007, et parmi les nombreuses créations à son actif, on peut mentionner la pièce pour saxophone soprano solo P.S. que Georges Aperghis lui a dédiée en 2009. Investissant volontiers le domaine du théâtre musical, il explore également le champ libre de l’improvisation et de la musique vivante – collaborant avec danseurs, acteurs, pantomimes et cinéastes. Depuis 1999, Pierre-Stéphane Meugé enseigne le saxophone et la musique de chambre à la Haute école de musique de Lausanne, où il encadre également les Ateliers de musique contemporaine.